OT- Small base dies?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
iceman
Senior Levergunner

OT- Small base dies?

Post by iceman »

I have limited experience in reloading for the Savage 99. I have loaded and fired maybe 40 rounds through my 99F in 300 savage using Lee dies and not had any problems with extraction etc. My loads are about .5 to 1 gr off max using IMR4895 and RL15. I sold my 308 dies to a young new loader and now have just gotten a mod 99 in 308. Are small base dies really needed? All my other levers (30-30 and 356 win) model 94s use standard dies without any issues. All my other 308 win rifles have been bolts so never an issue using regular dies. All comments welcome. Thanks
Happiness is a comfortable stump on a sunny south facing mountain.
damienph
Senior Levergunner

Re: OT- Small base dies?

Post by damienph »

It is my understanding that small base dies are for use with ammo being fired in semi-auto rifles. I don't think that there is any need for them in when resizing .308 brass for your Savage.

I have two .223 ARs and have had a 30-06 Remington 7400 and a Garand; I've always used standard sizing dies with them.
Bigahh
Levergunner 3.0

Post by Bigahh »

I had problems closing my chamber on my Handloads in my BLR .308 I pulled the bullets on the ones that i had the problem with, then resized with RCBS small base dies. Problem solved !
DougB
Levergunner

Post by DougB »