OT: Gripping single actions.

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
J Miller
Member Emeritus

OT: Gripping single actions.

Post by J Miller »

I read posts by folks who can't seam to learn how to shoot single action revolvers on a regular basis. Most of them are used to autos and or DA revolvers so they really don't know how.
But some just like humongous ugly grips on what is otherwise a slim trim and well thought out design and seam to go out of their way to ugly up their guns.

I've been shooting single action revolvers for 40+ years now and I prefer the Colt shape and size. I have no trouble with them at all.
I was thinking of watching the John Wayne movie "THE WAR WAGON" when I noticed the picture on the front of the CD.
Gripping SA JW and KD web.JPG
The image on the cover was reversed so I flipped it back to correctly view it.
We know that John Wayne had huge hands and in this pic you can see that Kirk Douglas apparently did too. Yet both of them have all their fingers on the grip. Neither is using the pinky under hold.
Yes I know they were firing blanks but I'd be willing to bet both of them were fairly proficient with this type of gun and live ammo. And I'd also be willing to bet neither of them had Pachmayrs or Hogue rubber baby buggy bumpers on their's either.

At any rate I thought this pic with these two holding their SAs would be of interest.

Joe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
***Be sneaky, get closer, bust the cap on him when you can put the ball where it counts ;) .***
AJMD429
Posting leader...

Re: OT: Gripping single actions.

Post by AJMD429 »