Chronographing the right way

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
getitdone1
Senior Levergunner

Chronographing the right way

Post by getitdone1 »

I'm new to the chronograph and therefore could use some input.

Have a cheapy Pact that's new and just got it set-up. Very easy.

Have some concern about not blowing it away when using my high X scope along with .243 ctg. Best I can come up with is to bore sight it through the "uprights" and check scope picture at same time. Then, when shooting get same scope picture at same height. Directions say place chronograph 8 feet from muzzle of gun.

I have measured the distance between front and back of chronograph and it's 24" even, center to center--as per directions. I know this is critical if one is to obtain accurate readings.

Here's an important question:

What factory cartridges are very close in velocity to the reading I should get on my chronograph? My point is to use such cartridges to check the accuracy of my chronograph. I'm aware I must allow for barrel length and large, small or average sized chamber.

Instructions say the chronograph should vary no more than .5 more or less from actual velocity.

Is it alright to tape a sheet of paper fore and aft to chronograph with little bullseye on front one and after shot know exactly where bullet went through chronograph? My fast 55 gr bullets won't explode on this paper, will they? Guessing my MV about 3800 fps. If they did, to any degree at all could damage chronograph.

Don McCullough
cutter
Levergunner 2.0

Post by cutter »

Step number one- Don't shoot it. Trust me.