Mossberg 464 observations

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
J Miller
Member Emeritus

Mossberg 464 observations

Post by J Miller »

I was poking around and found the URL to the Mossberg 464 owners manual:
http://www.mossbergs.com/manuals/464_centerfire.pdf
Mossberg 464.jpg
On page 15 is the exploded drawing. As I studied that I saw that: >Mossberg copied the Winchester 9422 receiver design where the stock bolts on.
>The bolt looks like a partial copy of a Marlin center fire bolt.
>And the rest of the action is pure Winchester 94.

This is a good example of a hermaphrodite if I ever saw one. No original thoughts in this design except perhaps the bridge over the rear of the receiver.

My curiosity is does anyone here have one that they have shot extensively, and if so what is the round count and verdict?

I'd actually like to test fire one myself.

(See I can do an on topic post once in a while.)

Joe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
***Be sneaky, get closer, bust the cap on him when you can put the ball where it counts ;) .***
Ben_Rumson
Advanced Levergunner

Re: Mossberg 464 observations

Post by Ben_Rumson »

Joe.. Not sure but I think this pre dates the 9422s...It's the Mossberg 472 introduced in 1972...it had the no tangs stronger throughbolt buttstock ...But the rifle itself as one can see looks like a Morphed Marlin...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"IT IS MY OPINION, AND I AM CORRECT SO DON'T ARGUE, THE 99 SAVAGE IS THE FINEST RIFLE EVER MADE IN AMERICA."
WIL TERRY
J Miller
Member Emeritus

Post by J Miller »