hi, newbie with 50-100 ?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Montana22
Levergunner

hi, newbie with 50-100 ?

Post by Montana22 »

Hi all. Long time lurker first time joining and posting. little about me. My favorite firearms are my 86 win 45-70 and 45-90, both antiques, i reload both and have taken many whitetails with both but other then that I am a newbie to working on leverguns but have extensive experience in building and working on semi auto older military rifles.
I gold prospect here in Montana and find myself not being able to concentrate on my prospecting or just staying away from some of the best gold prospecting areas because of the ever present Grizzly population.
Of course I wear a pistol/revolver but that isnt the protection that makes me feel comfortable so I want to build a winchester or browning or ? model 71in 50-90 / 50-100 short barrel, guessing 18-20 inches with full mag.
Would like to do octagon barrel.
I have searched the best I know how on this topic of building this rifle in this forum and elsewhere. I found a little bit of info on this forum but the info I found seemed to mainly be dated back around 2008 or so and not much technical data.
Im not sure of which levergun would be the best and easiest to convert, thinking browning model 71 348.
Looking for info on internal changes that may need to be done.
magazine tube attachment reinforcing that may need to be done.
Cant seem to find dies at this time but sounds as if they are usually available.
This rifle is designed for a 50' and under shooter. Hoping for a moderate recoiling 500 gr slug at 1700-1800fps, Is this doable?