Anyone cast the Lee 1oz shotgun slug?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Blackhawk
Levergunner 3.0

Anyone cast the Lee 1oz shotgun slug?

Post by Blackhawk »

I just got a 1oz mold from Lee. Anyone cast this slug? I'm new to casting. Any tips? How would I make the slugs hard or soft?

Johnny

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. Benjamin Franklin
TedH
Advanced Levergunner

Re: Anyone cast the Lee 1oz shotgun slug?

Post by TedH »

I've been casting that slug for a while. I would recommend you follow Lee's instructions and cast them from very soft alloy/pure lead. I tried some clip on wheel weight alloy one time, and they were a bugger to get loose from the mold because the alloy was harder. Some guys get away with using wheel weights and just cast at a lot higher temp. Other than that, it makes a decent slug.
NRA Life Member
Blackhawk
Levergunner 3.0

Post by Blackhawk »

I'm going to take 1oz shot from the case, melt it, mold it into a slug and put it back in the case. Never done this, or any casting for that matter. This is my first go at it.

Johnny

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. Benjamin Franklin
TedH
Advanced Levergunner

Post by TedH »