Are there any graphic designer-types in the house?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
awp101
Advanced Levergunner

Are there any graphic designer-types in the house?

Post by awp101 »

OK, I started back to school this month and my degree is going to be in Graphic Communication. The first class I'm taking related to that field is Basic Graphic Design and we are using Adobe InDesign. Later in the semester we will be using CS6 or Illustrator 6, I don't recall which.

I'm doing this because it's something I want to learn as a hobby, not to get into the graphic design industry so here's my question(s):

My main focus will be photography and digital imaging so is there a reason to get ID or CS6 when Photoshop (or even GIMP) will handle pretty much all I want to do (AFAIK)?

As it will be a hobby/relaxation thing, I'd prefer to get one of the boxed packages rather than go the monthly subscription route. If it were for a business, etc I could see it but there's no reason I can see to pay $30+/mo when that would go over the cost of buying the software after a year or two and I can live without having the "latest and greatest" features as soon as they come out.

The best my instructor could suggest was to try ID and CS to see which I liked best but didn't address the hobby aspect. I suppose since the class is geared towards those wanting to do it for a living, it may not be anything she's had to consider or give an opinion on.

So, what are your thoughts and am I missing anything in my train of thought?
Nothing so needs reforming as other people's habits.
-Mark Twain

Proverbs 3:5; Philippians 4:13