I almost blew it..BIG WARNING

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Kansas Ed
Senior Levergunner

I almost blew it..BIG WARNING

Post by Kansas Ed »

Well, I've been reloading now for 25 years or so, and have NEVER had a close call. But tonight I almost screwed the pooch.

Here's what happened. I was loading some cast bullets in the 30-30. We decided to try a powder I've never worked with...Green Dot. Figured out my starting load, prepped the brass. Went to throw the powder. I'm using a RCBS 9010 Uniflow powder measure. I checked and double checked the charge weight, and started loading. I was through about 12 or so, charging 5 at a time, and seating the bullet. Then I got a nearly case full of powder. At first I thought it had clogged in the neck of the case, but after tapping the case a few times, I realized with a sickening feeling that it really WAS A CASE FULL OF GREEN DOT! I started checking the few I had charged on the bench without bullets, and had loads which were light, and loads which were extremely heavy.

So here's what happened....RCBS has two drop tubes. One for .22 caliber up to about .270, and one for about .30 caliber and over. I had the smaller drop tube in the measure, and it was clogging the tube...throwing seriously inconsistent charges. Now I have a routine when using my measure, throw the charge, tap the handle twice, and move on. Well, that wasn't doing it. Scared hell out of me. I pulled all that I had loaded and started over. I've NEVER had this happen to me before, but I generally don't use flake powder either.

Sooo...be on the lookout.

Ed
TedH
Advanced Levergunner