Reloading 41 Magnum

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
rjletraveler
Levergunner

Reloading 41 Magnum

Post by rjletraveler »

Hello all,
I am looking for some reloading help in regards to my Henry 41 magnum. I have reloaded some 210 grain moly coated lswc cast bullets and have had an issue getting them to group at 25yards. I did three separate loads using hp38 powder at 6.6, 6.9 and 7.4 grains. 5 rounds of each and my groups all over the place. I am new to reloading for the 41 but I believe my seating depth was fine as well as my crimp. I have not tried another powder yet. That will be my next attempt I believe. Has anyone had success with the hp38 in the 41? Of note. I have shot other reloads through it that were part of what I inherited when my dad passed and I got his ruger blackhawk. They shot great. Dead on over and over at 25 yards. Unfortunately I do not know the powder used. He was exceptionally lax in keeping detailed records. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you,
Rich
GunnyMack
Advanced Levergunner

Re: Reloading 41 Magnum

Post by GunnyMack »

Welcome!
I too have a Henry 41. I haven't put cast through it yet. I learned to not push Berry's plated too fast! :lol:
I settled on Nosler 210s over Lilgun for 1800+/- and touching holes off sandbags at 50. I was looking for a flatter shooting load. I also tried Speer and XTPs- Hornady does not recommend the XTP at that velocity!
The Lyman cast bullet manual is your friend!
BROWN LABS MATTER !!
rjletraveler
Levergunner

Post by rjletraveler »