45 Acp SAAMi 21,000 But 45 Colt only Saami 14,000,?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
bcraig
Levergunner 2.0

45 Acp SAAMi 21,000 But 45 Colt only Saami 14,000,?

Post by bcraig »

I have never Had a 45 Colt but decided I wanted one so I have an EMF GW II Gunfighter 45 Colt with 45 Acp Cylinder that should be here within a week or so.

So I see the Manufactures are saying it is okay to shoot 45 ACP ammo that is Saami rated At 21,000 Pressure
But the 45 Colt is supposed to be held to Saami 14,000 Pressure

Now I am no Rocket Scientist but seems to me Like the 45 Colt can Safely be taken to Higher than the Saami 14,000 Pressure Limit without battering anything on the Revolver if it is safe with a 21,000 Pressure 45 ACP load !!

What are yalls thoughts on the discrepancy between the 45 Long Colt and 45 ACP Pressure limits ?
Blaine
Posting leader...

Re: 45 Acp SAAMi 21,000 But 45 Colt only Saami 14,000,?

Post by Blaine »

One reason is that 45 Colt ammo can and will be used in rattletrap antique shooters that would not be safe with higher pressures. Modern revolvers chambered in 45 Colt, like Ruger, can be loaded up to .44 Mag levels...
The Rotten Fruit Always Hits The Ground First

Proud Life Member Of:
NRA
Second Amendment Foundation
Citizens Committee For The Right To Keep And Bear Arms
DAV
bcraig
Levergunner 2.0

Post by bcraig »

Blaine wrote: Sat Apr 18, 2020 4:39 pm One reason is that 45 Colt ammo can and will be used in rattletrap antique shooters that would not be safe with higher pressures. Modern revolvers chambered in 45 Colt, like Ruger, can be loaded up to .44 Mag levels...